I love my field

Today I worked from 10am to 9.45pm. It was exhausting, hard work and I don’t get paid a cent. But I loved every minute of it.

I’m an intern at my alma mater’s study abroad office, and it’s my first professional taste of the field that I’ve chosen, my first step in the career I want to pursue. It’s a great learning experience, not only because I get learn a lot about the work, the people, and the industry, but because I learn about myself.

I’ve learned that I love this work. Nothing makes me happier than working with study abroad all day. My favorite part is talking to students, convincing them that study abroad is possible and telling them about the cool places they can go. I also love doing events – you have to work hard to organize, set up and take down, making sure everything is as it needs to be, but then you get to sit back and watch your hard work become an awesome experience for other people. I even love the administrative stuff – wrestling with the facebook event page or study abroad software, digging through foreign universities websites to find course listings, etc. – because all that work means another possibility for students to have a great experience abroad.

I’ve learned that this is the perfect industry for me; this is where I belong. This is where I’m happy.

I love my industry. I love my work. And that’s how I know I’m on the right path.

Leave a Reply

