Why “Something Very Sensible” ?

“What say you, Mary? for you are a young lady of deep reflection I know, and read great books, and make extracts.”

Mary wished to say something very sensible, but knew not how.

“While Mary is adjusting her ideas,” he continued, “let us return to Mr. Bingley.”

-Mr Bennet, from Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen.

 

Similarities between myself and Mary Bennet:

  1. Young lady
  2. of deep(ish) reflection
  3. read great books (mostly – I won’t say no to a good romance)
  4. make extracts
  5. We often wish to say something very sensible, but know not how.
  6. We take time to adjust our ideas.

Differences between myself and Mary:

  1. I make extracts on the internet
  2. I can’t play the piano
  3. I live in the 21st Century, she was a fictional character in the 19th
  4. I could never be persuaded to marry Mr. Collins

So you see? It’s a fitting blog title.

 

I shall try to discover how to say very sensible things.

One thought on “Why “Something Very Sensible” ?

  1. Pingback: What I’m Reading Wednesday | Something Very Sensible

Leave a Reply

