Something Sensible Saturday: Setting Goals

We all know that setting goals is important, but sometimes it’s nice to be reminded.

This month, I will be participating in NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) which is an offshoot of NaNoWriMo in which participants attempt to write one blog post every day during the month of November. I will attempt to write a blog post every day for both this blog and my knitting blog.

This is going to be really difficult, and I probably won’t be entirely successful. I will probably miss a few days, and I won’t have exactly 60 posts by the time December rolls around. I have a part-time internship and I’m applying for jobs and I knit items to sell online and I still want to take good care of myself and my relationships and my home. Sometimes, there just aren’t enough hours in the day to sit down and write two blog posts after everything else is taken care of. And then there’s the issue of inspiration – what to write about? Will I be able to find something sensible to say, and say it sensibly enough, that it is worth the time I take to write it and the time you give to read it?

The point, however, is not to successfully write two blog posts every day for a month. Yes, that is the goal, but the purpose of this exercise is to have a goal. I challenge myself, I work hard, I commit to something, I stretch my literary legs, and then I can celebrate my success or celebrate that I learned something new about myself.

What happens if I don’t set goals for myself and challenge myself?

I begin to stagnate, I stop growing as a person, and I will most likely become very unhappy.

What happens if I don’t write two blog posts every day for the month of November?

Absolutely nothing.

 

One thought on “Something Sensible Saturday: Setting Goals

  1. Pingback: Painting Me Pretty | Cheri Speak

Leave a comment