Welcome and Big News

Greetings, dear reader!

If you’ve found your way here from my article on Mt. Koya for GoAbroad.com, welcome! (If not – please go check it out if you’re into that kind of thing!) Feel free to say hello, go through old posts, etc. I write about a lot of things here: books, travel and international stuff, thoughts on breaking into the workforce, etc. I also have a knitting blog if you’re into that kind of thing.

 

I haven’t been writing much lately because I’ve been making a serious and concentrated push in my job search. I got so sick of looking and applying for work that I put my heart and soul into it for a few short weeks, and it finally paid off! I’ve accepted a great position at an international education organization and will be moving to Portland, Maine next week.

I’m seriously bummed about leaving Nashville – I’ll leave behind my life for the past 4 years, some of my closest friends, my boyfriend, and the city that I’ve come to love – and I’m not sure when I’ll be back again.

But I am so unbelievably excited to move to Maine! I’ll get my own place, start a great new job at an awesome company, be closer to family, and start my new life. I’ll get the chance to really settle into a new place and make a new home, and Portland is an awesome place to do that (other than the terrible cold and the fact that it’s endlessly far away from practically everywhere ecxept Boston). Portland has great food, LOTS of community theater, really nice people, and tons of yarn stores. What’s not to love?

 

Wish me luck on my new adventure! I’ll be posting some of those adventures here, of course.

 

(Oh, and have a happy Valentine’s Day. Go eat some chocolate and hug on someone you love – even if you’re not dating anyone!)

Leave a Reply

